Category Archives: News

Dale Jr Interview with Anthony Alfredo and Josh Berry

Late model drivers Anthony Alfredo and Josh Berry with JR Motorsports talk about their 2017 season during a special Fan Appreciate Day edition of the Dale Jr. Download.

Episode 176: Listen on iTunes | Listen on the Web

Dale Earnhardt Jr. doesn’t let Josh Berry, the 2014 track champion at Hickory Motor Speedway, forget that 18-year old Anthony Alfredo won both dual races on March 6 at  Hickory Motor Speedway. This is Alfredo’s first year at JRM.

Berry started on the pole in the first dual race but finished 21 out of 22 after an engine failure.  Alfredo won the event.

Berry’s team was able to put in a new engine and get him on the track as the rest of the field was doing pace laps for the second dual.  He started from the rear and finished second to Alfredo in the second duel.

The JR Motorsports Fan Appreciation Day podcast includes shop talk on engines and tires for the late model team as well as interviews with JRM’s Xfinity drivers.

Too Many Thrills for Thrillin’ Dillion Oliver

[Updated Monday, May 22, 2017, 10:45 a.m.] Read’s article for a complete account from last night’s race: Williams Wins, Oliver & Fatscher Collide in Bristol PLM Race

Watch the battle as twenty-year old Dillion Oliver and fourteen-year old Eddie Fatscher fight for the lead … and the punches go off the track.

Follow more tweets like these from the U.S. Short Track Nationals by watching our combined feed.

[Editor’s note – Dillon Oliver’s Twitter account and Facebook page listed on his website are infrequently updated and do not have a comment on this incident as of this post.]

Our Top Three for the All Star Race Fan Vote

The All Star Fan Vote is all about popularity, and based on that, I expect Chase Elliot or Danica Patrick to win – although I don’t know the beef-cake factor of the other drivers, so I could be way off.

But, if it was about who deserves it, here are my top candidates.

Honorable Mention:  Trevor Bayne.  He won the Daytona 500.  I heard somewhere that the 500 was a big race.

3.) Chase Elliot.  He was last year’s Rookie of the Year, which perhaps should be an automatic entry.  Maybe NASCAR will add it before Saturday’s race.

2.) Clint Bowyer.  He has eight wins, more than any of the other candidates.  Enough said.

1.) Ryan Blaney/Woods Brothers.  Blaney does not have the success of Eliot or Bowyer, but the Wood Brothers Racing Team does  (98 wins, 120 poles) and they continue to show they haven’t lost their touch.  Although Glen Woods is only a co-owner now, his kids run the team.  That’s why they are on my list and not Richard Petty Motorsports, which the Petty’s only co-own.  The Wood Brothers Racing Team is more than All Stars and their car deserves to be in the race.